New Council officially welcomed

Hume City Council has officially welcomed its new council, including seven newly elected councillors.
The councillors were officially welcomed at Council’s Statutory Meeting at the Broadmeadows Council Chambers last night. Councillor Drew Jessop, who represents Aitken Ward, was also nominated as Mayor during the evening.
Cr Jessop last served as Hume Mayor in 2001 to 2002. Jacksons Creek Ward Councillor Ann Potter was elected Deputy Mayor.
In accepting the role of Mayor, Cr Jessop thanked his fellow councillors for their support and affirmed his commitment to the community.
“I would like to thank my fellow councillors for providing me with this opportunity. I feel honoured to take on this responsibility and am committed to ensuring we do the very best for our City and our community,” Cr Jessop said.
“There are exciting times ahead - we have an obligation to work closely as councillors and I know that our partnership will strive to deliver and meet the expectations of our residents.”
Hume City Council CEO Domenic Isola also thanked past councillors for their contributions.
“Council is thankful for the hard work and dedication of past councillors Helen Patsikatheodorou, Chandra Bamunusinghe, Adem Atmaca, Alan Bolton, Casey Nunn, Jack Ogilvie and Vic Dougall,” Mr Isola said.
“Your passion and commitment has made the lives of residents in Hume better and we wish you all the best in the future.”


Hume City Councillors

Aitken Ward
Carly Moore
Drew Jessop
Jodi Jackson
Joseph Haweil

Meadow Valley Ward
Geoff Porter
Jana Taylor
Karen Sherry
Naim Kurt

Jacksons Creek Ward

Ann Potter
Jack Medcraft
Leigh Johnson



Posted on 4:00 PM, 8 November 2016

Updated : 5:56 PM, 8 November 2016

What's Near Me?