Hume Attractions

Hume has hidden gems located within the municipality, lined with unique and historically significant places to visit and explore, including the oldest homestead in Victoria, the birthplace of the Ashes, award-winning wineries, parklands, markets and events.

Looking for a day trip or even longer stay? Don't know where to begin or what is on in and around Hume City?? Stop by Sunbury Visitor Information Centre, where you can find an abundance of information, and make sure to follow us on Instagram for updates on all things Hume and share your content by tagging #discoverhume #humeeats


Coming to Hume in 2020 - URBNSURF Surf Park

URBNSURF is currently building Australia's first surf park right here at the Melbourne Airport, which is scheduled to be completed in 2020, located on Airport Drive, Tulamarine and just 16km north of Melbourne's CBD.

URBNSURF Melbourne has been designed to be an innovative surf sports, leisure and entertainment facility centred around a world-class surfing lagoon. At 2.1 hectares in area, the lagoon will be similar in size to the MCG and will host up to 84 surfers per hour across six different surfing zones. This next-generation, state-of-the-art facility will deliver authentic, safe and convenient surfing experiences for all skill levels, year-round.

URBNSURF will feature a range of activities and experiences such as a concept retail store, surf and hire store, night surfing, fitness classes, coaching and training options festivals and events - as well as a multi outlet food and bar precinct. For more information visit 




Living Legends

Living Legends has been established to allow the public a view of retired champion horses. Rub shoulders with equine royalty such as Fields of Omagh and Tom Melbourne. A great day out for the whole family, bring a picnic and explore historic Woodlands Homestead. Come visit the champion Living Legends racehorses down in their paddocks on daily guided tours. Rub noses with these legends of the racing turf. Only 6 minutes from Melbourne Airport. For more information visit  



Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden

Enjoy a stroll through the magnificent rose garden, located in the heart of Bulla. The rose garden displays a spectacular variety of stunning roses.
The Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden highlights the work of Australia's most prolific rose breeder, the late Mr Alister Clark of Bulla. Download a copy of the Roses of Hume booklet. For more information visit: Alister Clark Memorial Rose Garden



Merrifield Famers' Market

Farmers' Market is a Community market located in Mickleham. The market brings to the community a place to connect, fresh produce, local fresh food, kids activities and entertainment. Operating the 4th Saturday of the month from 8:30am – 12:30pm in the Merrifield Neighbourhood Park (Cnr Balmain and St Georges Blvd Mickleham) it is sure to be a great way to start the weekend!

Market dates for 2019:
(Please Note: market dates are subjected to weather conditions - visit the Markets Facebook page for updates)

  • 27 April
  • 25 May
  • 22 June
  • 27 July
  • 24 August
  • 28 September
  • 26 October
  • 23 November
  • 21 December

For a weekly list of stallholder and activities visit


Sunbury Village Market

The Sunbury Village Market is where you can find beautiful handmade arts and crafts, delicious food and fun for the whole family. Held second Saturday of each month. More information visit Sunbury Village Market

Bohemian Bulla Market

A market with an atmosphere of a bohemian free spirit theme, offering products and services that will nurture the Mind, Body and Spirit. The Market runs every third Sunday of the month excluding January, June and July. More information follow:

Events in Hume

Check out what's happening in Hume - from Council and community run events there's certainly something on for everyone. Visit here for an updated list of events. 

Walking, Cycling and Places of Interest

Hume is jam packed with a vast variety of walking and cycling options. For an updated list please phone or visit the Sunbury Visitor Information Centre or download the 'Discover Your City Walking, Cycling and Places of Interest' maps below:

Discover Your City Map - Broadmeadows and Craigieburn.pdf

Discover Your City Map - Sunbury and Bulla.pdf


History, Museums and Galleries

Hume offers a range of museums and galleries as well as a rich history and heritage. Visit our historic bluestone bridges, railway viaducts and churches.


Broadmeadows Historical Museum

Established in 1991 this museum is dedicated to the preservation, display and appreciation of Broadmeadows history. For more information:

A Walk Around Old Broadmeadows Village

Now known as Westmeadows, Old Broadmeadows Village was developed in 1850. Some of the historical features include: The Police Lock-ups (1859), District Roads Board Building (1866), St Anne’s Roman Catholic Church (1867), The Presbyterian Church (1850’s), The Vicarage for St Paul’s Anglican Church (1860), The Old Coach House, Foresters Hall (1887), Stone Bridge (1869), The Old Court House and The Hotel. For more information:

Woodlands Historic Homestead

Visit historic Woodlands Homestead (1843) which overlooks the grassy woodlands of Gellibrand Hill – Located at Living Legends.  Bike, hike, ride your horse and picnic in the park. Scarred trees and surface stone tool scatters are evidence of the Woiworung Aboriginal people who lived in the area before European settlement. The park also contains the ruins of two other 19th century homesteads, Cumberland and Dundonald. For more information:

Aitken's Gap Gaol

The Aitken's Gap Police Gaol was erected in 1857 at a cost of ₤200. It was built near the Calder Highway West of Sunbury where there was a small town known as “The Gap”, originally called Aitken’s Gap after the pioneer sheep farmer John Aitken. The Gaol was mostly used for the safe storage of gold and cash on route to the Treasury in Melbourne. In 1988 the Gaol was relocated to its present location – between the Police Station and the Old Courthouse in Macedon Street Sunbury.

Boilerhouse Art Gallery

The Boilerhouse was built in 1899 and since then the tall red chimney of this structure has been a Sunbury landmark. The former Boilerhouse and laundry of the original Industrial School underwent refurbishment in 1995 and became the home of the Art Gallery and Community Arts Centre. They held their first exhibition in 1996.  For more information:

Emu Bottom Homestead - Victoria's Oldest Homestead

Emu Bottom Homestead operated as a tourist attraction for the period of 1970 – 1975. Today, Emu Bottom Homestead is an important landmark and a treasured part of Australian pioneering heritage. The homestead complex is the backdrop to all manner of functions and events and boasts two dining facilities – the Woolshed and the Homestead Dining Room. Emu Bottom is today used as a reception centre and is not open to the public for tours. For more information:

Historical walk around Sunbury

Sunbury has many walking trails, most featuring historic sites. The entire Sunbury Region features many historic bluestone bridges, railway viaducts and churches. Some of the historical features of Sunbury include: Catholic Presbytery, Mount Carmel Church and Primary School (1864-75), Ball Court Hotel (1860), Dunblane (1893), Old Wine Saloon No. 33 (1870), St. Andrews Uniting Church (1904), St. Mary’s Church (1867), Sunbury and District Soldier Memorial, Joseph Starkie Fountain (1915), Sunbury Cannon (1865), Catholic Convent (1916), plus so much more. Pick up a copy of the Sunbury Heritage walks brochure at the Sunbury Visitor Information Centre

Indigenous Earth Rings

The earth ring sites are extremely rare. Only eight earth rings are documented for the entire state of Victoria. Five of these are found in Sunbury. The Sunbury rings are shallow, circular depressions, partially enclosed by raised earth rims. They range from 15 to 25 metres in diameter. One of these sites was excavated in 1979 and yielded the discovery of 164 stone artefacts and revealed that the ring had been made by human hands. Note that the sites are protected under legislation and people must not enter the fenced areas around the rings.
For more information contact Sunbury Visitor Information Centre

Old Sunbury Courthouse - Sunbury Visitor Information Centre

The Sunbury Courthouse is steeped in history in its own right. In 1884 the Government decided to construct a permanent Court House in Sunbury and the tender was awarded in 1885 to Dodridge and Roberston at a cost of ₤507/9/6. The courthouse was operational until 1989 when it was officially closed – It is now currently being operated as Sunbury Visitor Information Centre for Hume.

Victoria University site - Old Sunbury Asylum Tours

In the 1860’s Sunbury was chosen as the site for a purpose built Industrial School with 10 bluestone buildings to accommodate children. The school was closed after 14 years and was re-developed from 1879 as an institution for psychiatric patients. It is during this period that the “old asylum” is most remembered and was also known as Caloola. In 1994 Victoria University moved onto the site, but subsequently closed its doors. Today, visitors can collect a self- guided tour map from the Sunbury Visitor Information Centre and wander at their own pace, exploring the exterior of these remarkable buildings. Alternatively, you can take a guided walking night tour, available only on weekends. For more information:

George Evans Museum (Currently closed due to renovations)

The George Evans museum hosts a significant collection of over 3,500 items including photographs, documents  and objects of significance to Sunbury and surrounds. The museum displays permanent exhibition of pieces as well as rotating feature exhibitions. For more information visit.

History of the Ashes (Not Open to Public)

It was on the cricket field of Rupertswood that the Ashes were created. Over the Christmas of 1882, eight amateur members of the English touring side were house guests of the Clarkes. Sir William organised a social hit between the English and his guests, and with the English proving victorious, Janet Lady Clarke burnt a bail, the ashes of which she placed in a small urn and presented to the English Captain (Ivo Bligh).

The Village Green

The Sunbury Village Green is a unique place. It is not a true village green in the traditional sense, but was created as a result of the closure of Stawell Street to traffic.  Stawell Street provided a key link between the early settlement of Sunbury and the commercial precinct that later blossomed with the opening of the railway in 1859. This area includes original churches, St Mary’s (1867), St Andrews (1870) as well as the old Mechanics Institute (1885 – now known as Memorial Hall), War memorial, Starkie Fountain memorial and Sunbury Gun (1864) used by the Rupertswood Battery. Address: Corner of Barkly & Brook Streets, Sunbury

instagram-button (1).jpg

Updated : 1:38 PM, 14 April 2020

Related Links

What's Near Me?